Skip to content
July 3, 2014 / admin

Who Did it For You? Time to Name Names


11018_viewI think we all can remember who the first guy or girl of a different race was that made us realize other race guys/girls were HOT and that we were attracted to people who may have a different skin color than you.

For me it was Patrick Swayze in Dirty Dancing. His swaying hips in those tight pants definitely made me sit up at a very young age and picture myself marrying a guy who looked and danced just like he did.

I confess, I’ve watched that movie more times than I can count and enjoy it every time. It might have had something to do with my very active imagination and the relative ease of which I could envision my head in the place of Jennifer Gray’s (Baby) in all of their scenes together.

There were many steaming hot moments in that film, but them practicing in the dance studio, where she can’t stop laughing as he runs his fingers along her side – and of course the scene where they do it for the first time (smokin’) are my all time favorites.

Now for some of you, your first interracial crush may not have been a celebrity, and that’s okay too. Feel free to name names a well. You never know – he or she may be googling themselves and come across your post. Boom! Instant rekindling – just don’t forget to invite me to the wedding 🙂

 

By the way, check out this unintentionally hilarious deleted scene from Dirty Dancing below. Whew, I don’t think I could have handled all of this right here as a child but all I can say is Jennifer Gray was one lucky lady!

 

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. JJinPA / Jul 3 2014 7:19 pm

    For me, it was my girlfriend in college. She was beautiful, talented, had a great personality, and was going to become a teacher. I wanted to marry her, but my parents were horrified because she was black. Of course, that was 1974 and I wasn’t strong enough to defy them and white society. Since then I’ve admired Thandie Newton, Rae Dawn Chong, Bria Miles and others. While I can’t go back in timet and marry I wanted to then, I’m happy things have changed so much and black and white girls and boys can now be together.

  2. elfedelaforet / Jul 3 2014 9:30 pm

    The first for me was Andy Gibb but in an innocent “Wow, he’s so dreamy!” way as i was only about 7 yrs old. LOL

    …Then the first “hubba hubba!.. wish he was my boyfriend” – level crush was probably Jason Bateman(?)

    It’s hazy…(fog o’ hormones) & also -all so scrambled up with the English musician fangirling (Duran Duran, Curiosity Killed the Cat et al) and my longstanding James Taylor issues.

    DD

    CKTC

    JT
    http://goo.gl/0IHLsy

    I think after seeing my magazines, posters/pinups, and records for years, no one in my family was surprised about who i dated/married. lolz

    • Adeen / Sep 15 2014 3:10 pm

      lol I always thought Andy Gibb was cute and I liked his music too although he was before my time. It was sad to read that he died of a heart related issues due to years of cocaine use. May he rest in peace. And Jason Bateman is pretty cute too.

      I was always attracted to White and Latino men but I never admitted it because I didn’t want fellow Blacks thinking I was a sellout and I had that false obligation to be ”loyal” to the ”Brothas” although I never dated a Black man in my life. I did some self reflecting and started to realize that I never really preferred Black man and that I should go with what my heart wants. I am interested in dating good quality, White and Asian men nowadays

  3. elfedelaforet / Jul 3 2014 9:47 pm

    re: real life crushes – there were some of my cousins’ friends, a few guys i went to school with, and a clerk at the grocery store but I never dated until college.

    • Adeen / Sep 19 2014 12:54 pm

      I had a crush on a guy during my senior year of high school but he had a girlfriend. He was one grade below me. I wish that I had a chance with him but living in a small town in the South and interracial dating doesn’t mix. So I have decided to stay single and go to community college. I rather go outside of my area to find a nice, White or non black male to date

  4. Dean / Jul 4 2014 1:26 am

    For me it was the school that I went to. It was 80% black and as a white man just being around all those sexy black college girl got to me. And Salt-N-Pepa’s Shoop video.

  5. Max Kors / Jul 4 2014 2:59 pm

    as a dude, it was this little cute black girl in first grade. I thought she was adorable. There were a number of famous girls. Angela Basset in “strange days” looked cool. I actually watched “bring it on” just for Gabrielle Union. I wanted all of the TLC girls. But the major factor that made it impossible for me to ever ever look at white girls ever was that Naomi Campbell video “the closet” with Michael Jackson. For me, there’s no way anyone can be fine than that. check it.

  6. Max Kors / Jul 4 2014 3:02 pm

    Wrong video. Here’s the namoi michael jackson video.

    • elfedelaforet / Jul 5 2014 7:20 pm

      Naomi was all kinds of awesome in that video!

    • Adeen / Sep 15 2014 3:11 pm

      Naomi was gorgeous in the video!

  7. Teri / Jul 6 2014 12:52 am

    For me, it was Kevin Costner in “The Bodyguard”. Whitney Houston was lucky. I did one of my first female masturbations to Kevin Costner. Sometimes I still masturbate to Kevin Costner, Was that TMI?

    • Dean / Jul 6 2014 2:01 pm

      Maybe just a little, but made me smile.
      Kool

  8. Bettye / Jul 31 2014 11:11 pm

    For me it was by far Jeffrey Dean Morgan in the movie Love, Peace and Misunderstanding. He is a very hot White Man and sexy as well. He reminds me of another Dean. Being seriously attracted to a man leave you in the area of “shades of Grey”

  9. Adeen / Sep 15 2014 3:34 pm

    For me, it was watching Full House reruns as a little girl and paying attention to John Stamos portray Uncle Jesse. I was a little girl then and I thought he was so cute. To this day, I still have a crush on John Stamos. And I started to like Mario Lopez from Saved by the Bell, Johnny Depp, Leonardo DiCarpio etc. But I kept my attraction to myself and didn’t tell other Black people fearing that they would call me a sellout. As I look back, I wish I went along with my desires and not what others told me to.

    • admin / Sep 15 2014 9:57 pm

      Oh yes, Uncle Jesse was a total babe with a full head of hair. Of course who didn’t swoon over Leonardo DiCaprio back then. You have great taste 🙂

      • Adeen / Sep 28 2014 9:52 pm

        Thanks. I still like John Stamos to this day. I have always been attracted to White and Latino males but I never admitted this attraction because I wanted to stay ”loyal” to Black men. Now that I am breaking free of African American group think mentality, I am trying to be honest with what I want and don’t want in a man.

Leave a Reply

