Skip to content
January 21, 2011 / admin

Brown Eyed Girl – They’re Singing Your Praises


For those who think Black women who publically acknowlege their interest/love for White men do so in vain because White men do not publically reciprocate the interest/love – watch and take a listen to the 4 videos below, which were recorded by well known, mainstream, White male artists.

On the flip side, here’s an interesting question… has a popular/mainstream Black woman musician/artist ever made a song about a white man/white men in general?

I remember WAY back in the day when I thought I wanted to be a singer/songwriter, I wrote a song called Blue Eyes about my boyfriend. I sang it for a producer and was immediately informed Black women can’t sing songs about “blue eyes” because it’s obvious I would be talking about a white man and that Black people wouldn’t support my music/me. He then went on to say that even Janet Jackson couldn’t get away with singing about something like that because she would isolate all of her fans although she had famously, at the time, rocked a pair of blue contacts in her music video.

From Wikipedia: After finishing out his contract with Decca Records and the mid-1966 break up of his band Them, Van Morrison returned to Belfast seeking a new recording company. When he received a phone call from Bert Berns, owner of Bang Records, he flew to New York City and hastily signed a contract (that biographer Clinton Heylin says probably still gives him sleepless nights.)[5] During a two day recording session starting 28 March 1967, he recorded eight songs intended to be used as four singles.[6] The recording session took place at A & R Studios and “Brown Eyed Girl” was captured on the 22nd take on the first day.[11] Originally titled “Brown-Skinned Girl”, Morrison changed it to “Brown Eyed Girl” when he recorded it. Morrison remarked on the original title: “That was just a mistake. It was a kind of Jamaican song. Calypso. It just slipped my mind. I changed the title.”[12] “After we’d recorded it, I looked at the tape box and didn’t even notice that I’d changed the title..I looked at the box where I’d lain it down with my guitar and it said ‘Brown Eyed Girl’ on the tape box. It’s just one of those things that happen.”[13]

(P.S. – I don’t really believe it was an oversight – more like he buckled under pressure by his label or handlers who didn’t think releasing a song about Black women at the time would be a good idea… but at least he admitted to the song really being written about Black Women or Brown Skinned girls.)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Nkosazana / Jan 21 2011 1:04 pm

    Ah now I know why my husband likes “Brown eyed girl” so much. Good post!

  2. WingedBeast / Jan 21 2011 10:44 pm

    In Morrison’s defense, a pair of deep brown eyes on a beautiful woman are worthy of a song in and of themselves.

Leave a Reply

